Movement Analysis: What Am I Assessing? Part 3

Questions to be Answered About the Displayed Movement

I am fully aware that the first 2 parts of this blog posting regarding my movement assessment process have been fairly advanced and may have presented some thoughts that are foreign to many of you out there. Getting more technical yet, there are numerous questions that I aim to answer when I watch athletes on film. Many of the answers (if not most to a certain degree) are highly speculative on my part. But, I must take the plunge and attempt to answer them in order to attain the best possible qualitative analysis of what is occurring out on the field. These questions that I have come to ask with every on-field movement assessment I do, have been influenced, adopted, and modified from numerous places including the works of Yessis, Verkhoshansky, Bondarchuk, Cook, Gambetta, and others.

1. If the movement was suboptimal, what were the potential drivers of the bad movement? Note: When I say drivers of bad movement, I may be pointing to issues of motor pattern learning, muscular strength quality weaknesses, or sensiomotor malfunctions.

2. Were there any energy leaks? If so, at what joints?

3. Were actions that could lead to injury occurring?

4. Are there weaknesses in the physical abilities specific to how the skill is being performed?

5. Was the joint action sequence correct? (Both through flexion and extension patterns)

6. Was the timing of the joint sequence optimal?

7. How is Force being produced (i.e. at what speeds/velocities?)?

8. Can additional Force be produced in the movement?

9. Was/Is the Force being produced at the optimal moment in time?

Now, I completely understand that this 3-part blog series was a bit more technical and detailed than most that I plan to write on here.
I apologize for that; it’s the applied sports scientist coming out of me. However, I will do my best to take a different approach as I head into the future with further blog posts. I simply wanted all readers to get a grasp of the complications of on-field football movement and the training designed to enhance it before I even get started. Trust me; what I touched on isn’t even the tip of the iceberg. All in all, you can see that we must go well BEYOND THE STATS when we analyze and prepare NFL players.

Stay posted for the next blog post as my plan is to finally begin breaking down the movement patterns of the game’s best. First up; we will be highlighting the flashy moves of arguably the best cornerback to ever play the game – Deion Sanders. Yes! We are going Primetime! Till then, have a fantastic weekend and hope to chat with y’all soon.

Deion pic 1

Yours in Speed, Strength, and Swag!

Leave a Reply

